Major literary awards and prizes that recognize diverse authors:

The Caine Prize for African Writing is awarded annually to a work by an African writer published in English. Emphasis remains on the short story, “reflecting the contemporary development of the African story-telling tradition”. Since 2000; winner announced in July.

The Man Booker Prize is awarded annually to a work of fiction published in English by a citizen of the United Kingdom, the Commonwealth, or the Republic of Ireland. Since 1969; winner announced in October.

The National Book Critics Circle Awards are awarded annually to works published in English in the United States. Awards are given in six categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Memoir/Autobiography, Biography, and Criticism. Awardees are honored for “outstanding writing and fostering a national conversation about reading, criticism, and literature”. Since 1975; winners announced in March.

The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is awarded annually to the year’s best published work of fiction by an American author. It is the largest peer-juried award in the United States, named for American literary great William Faulkner. Since 1981; winner announced in March.